Draft List of Participants Malaria Policy Advisory Group (MPAG)

18-20 April 2023

World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS MPAC Members

Professor Samira Abdelrahman Medani Colleage of Medical Sciences and Technology Gesira State Sudan

Professor Ahmed Adeel Independent Consultant USA

Professor Evelyn Ansah Director Center for Malaria Research University of Health & Allied Sciences Ghana

Professor Graham Brown Professor Emeritus University of Melbourne Australia

Professor Thomas Burkot
Professor and Tropical Leader Australian
Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine
James Cook University
Australia

Dr Gabriel Carrasquilla Director of ASIESALUD Colombia

Professor Umberto d'Alessandro Director Medical Research Council Unit Gambia

Professor Abdoulaye Djimde Head, Molecular Epidemiology and Drug Resistance Unit Malaria Research and Training Center University of Mali Mali Professor Chris Drakeley Immunologist, Department of Infection Biology London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine UK

Professor David Fidock
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Division of Infectious Diseases Department of
Medicine Colombia University
USA

Professor Azra Ghani
Professor Infectious Diseases Epidemiology
Centre for Outbreak Analysis and
Modelling Imperial College
United Kingdom

Dr Caroline Jones Senior Social Scientist KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Research Programme Kenya

Dr Patrick Kachur Professor Columbia University Medical Center Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health USA

Dr Nilima Kshirsagar Emeritus Scientist Indian Council of Medical Research India

Dr Paola Marchesini Senior Technical Officer Malaria Group Ministry of Health Brazil

Dr Fredros Okumu Public Health Researcher Director of Science Ifakara Health Institute Tanzania Professor Gao Qi Senior Professor

Jiangsu Institute of Parasitic Diseases and Suzhou

University China

Dr Aranxta Roca Feltrer

Head Surveillance Monitoring and Evaluation

Malaria Consirtum

UK

Professor Dyann Wirth

Richard Pearson Strong Professor and Chair Department of Immunology and Infectious

Diseases

Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

USA

National Malaria Control Programmes

Dr Prameswari Hellen Dewi

National Malaria Control Programme Manager

Indonesia

Dr Leo Makita

National Malaria Control Programme Manager

Papua New Guinee

Representative tbc

National Malaria Control Programme Manager

Brazil

Representative tbc

National Malaria Control Programme Manager

EMRO

Representative tbc

National Malaria Control Programme Manager

AFRO

Standing Observers

Dr Corine Karema

CEO a.i.

RBM Partnership To End Malaria

Switzerland

Representative

UNICEF

Dr Scott Filler Malaria

Team Leader

Technical Advice and Partnerships Department Strategy, Investment, and Impact Division

The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and

Malaria

Switzerland

Presenters

Dr Melanie Renshaw Chief Technical Advisor

ALMA

Observers

To be updated once online registration has closed

WHO Secretariat

Dr Ebenezer Baba Medical Officer

Tropical & Vector Borne Diseases WHO Regional Office for Africa

Dr Stela Bivol

Lead, Joint Infectious Diseases Unit WHO Regional Office for Europe

Dr Andrea Bosman

Director, a.i.

Global Malaria Programme

Ms Eliane Furrer

Technical Officer

Product & Delivery Research Department of Immunization,

Vaccines & Biologicals

Dr Elkhan Gasimov

Unit Head Elimination unit Global Malaria Programme

Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus

Director-General

World Health Organization

Dr James Kelley

Regional Malaria Advisor a.i.

WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific

Dr Jan Kolaczinski

Unit Head

Entomology and Vector Control Unit Global Malaria

Programme

Dr Tereza Kasaeva

Assistant Director-General (a.i.)

Universal Health Coverage/Communicable and

Noncommunicable Diseases

Dr Roberto Montoya Regional

Malaria Adviser

WHO Regional Office for the Americas

Dr Abdisalan Noor Unit Head Strategic Information for Response Unit Global Malaria Programme

Dr Peter Olumese Medical Officer Diagnostics Medicines & Resistance Unit Global Malaria Programme

Dr Pascal Ringwald Coordinator DDC (Cambodia) WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific

Dr Alastair Robb Adviser Global Malaria Programme

Mrs Erin Shutes Programme Manager Global Malaria Programme Dr Jennifer Stevenson Technical Officer Entomology and Vector Control Unit Global Malaria Programme

Ms Saira Stewart Technical Officer Diagnostics Medicines & Resistance Unit Global Malaria Programme

Dr Risintha Premaratne Regional Malaria Adviser WHO Regional Office for South-East Asia

Dr Ghasem Zamani Regional Malaria Adviser WHO Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean

Dr Maru Aregawi Weldedawit Scientist High Burden to High Impact Global Malaria Programme